Consultation Appointment

We had a consultation appointment yesterday with our doctor, Valerie Shavell. Mom went with me because Jordan is out of town traveling for work. It went much better than I anticipated (I always anticipate the worst) and it looks like we won’t have to move onto IVF quite yet.

I asked my list of 26 questions. (Hey, I don’t get a lot of one-on-one time with her, I needed to ask while I could!) And she answered all of them and didn’t rush at all. She’s really nice and they are not pushy, as in, you really don’t feel like they’re in it for the money.

Overall, she said the number of follicles, my lining, timing, etc. have all been accurate for the IUIs. Jordan needs no more tests and the fact that his second SA a few months ago improved is promising/good. She did order a few more tests for me though, just to be sure. A thyroid check (even though I had one a year ago), which actually just came in and is normal (whoo hoo!) and then she is also checking for egg quality/ovarian reserve (this has not come in yet). Basically, if my last test comes in okay, there’s no reason we shouldn’t be getting pregnant with the fertility medicine I’ve been on and the IUIs.

I like to be blunt and straight-forward (is anyone surprised?) so I asked her, “Take the money out of it, what do you think we should do?” She suggested more IUIs and a hybrid of the medicine I’m on now/injection medicine. It’s the last middle ground before pulling out the big guns, IVF. Jordan and I talked and we’re on board with this.

So, we’ll have another IUI this weekend hopefully, pending all looks good at my ultrasound appointment Friday. If this IUI doesn’t work and we are not pregnant, we will move forward with the inject procedure starting the beginning of July.

To give you an idea of what that’s like, below is a sample calendar/plan. (Below is another set of acronyms and descriptions for you, too.)

CD 1 – 3: Go in for a baseline ultrasound. This tells them everything is looking ‘good’ in that area and that we are ready to start medicine.

CD 3-7: Take Femara medicine.

CD 7-9: Start FSH self-injections.

CD 9: Go in for a E2 blood draw and ultrasound to see how things are going.

CD 10-12: Continue FSH injections and possibly another ultrasound and blood draw.

CD 12: Probably a HGC trigger shot. IUI scheduled, likely on CD 13.

CD 13: IUI procedure

CD 14-28: Wait for what seems like a million years. Also, start Progesterone supplements until either 10 weeks of pregnancy or new cycle arrives.

A lot of it depends on how things are going, which is why there are several check ups. I fortunately have a great boss at work who is understanding about everything.

Injections are a little more ‘hard core’ than the medicine I’ve been on, which fortunately right now only gives me headaches and hot flashes, so I have to be kind of lame and probably cut out my wine (I don’t drink while I’m waiting to find out if I’m pregnant anyway, but prior to I usually like to drink my wine:)), and running will be out of the picture once the injections start. You can’t do a lot of bouncing or heavy lifting because you could rupture an ovary and then just be out an entire ovary or Fallopian tube. A good excuse for Jordan to carry in the groceries though…Hmmm, this may work in my favor. 😉

Thanks again for the prayers and I will update everyone again after Friday’s ultrasound appointment.

Acronyms: 

  • Follicles – Basically the eggs.
  • FSH Injections – Follicle stimulating hormone used to stimulate a follicle (egg) to develop an mature. It is used when a woman desires pregnancy and her ovaries can produce a follicle, but hormonal stimulation is not sufficient to make the follicle mature.
  • E2 Bloodwork – A blood test that measures the amount of estradiol in your blood.
Leave a Reply

