From the Bottom of My Heart

I did my best to personally text all our family and friends to let them know that unfortunately, our first IVF cycle did not work. If for some reason I missed you, please let me  have a pass. I had a lot of people to contact and the day was kind of a blur.

 

We got our negative lab results back early Monday morning, and I had taken a test in the morning so we already knew.

I’m not quite ready to write about it yet, but I wanted to take a moment to thank all of our wonderful family and friends from the bottom of my heart. Seriously, there is no way we could get through this without the support from everyone. The flowers sent, wine given, messages sent, cards – all so much more than I could have ever imagined. The offers to listen, the french fries bought for me on the day we found out {sometimes you just need fries for lunch} and the check in texts have been truly astonishing. They always say it’s moments like this when you find out who your friends really are, and I have to say, we’ve surrounded ourselves with some really great people.

Whether near or far, our family is our rock and I can always count on them to share in both our joy and our sadness. I am so appreciative of the close knit bond we have with all of our family. I know not all families have that same bond and I am just incredibly thankful we are blessed enough to experience it.

I’ve even told several co-workers who I’m close with, and their support has been fantastic. I can’t imagine how much  more stressful his would have been without work’s support.

And to the friends I’ve made within this crazy infertility world, thank you. Thank you for understanding. Thank you for being there.

Being open with all of this can put one in a vulnerable spot, but it also allows others to grieve with you in a time of need, and for that, I am so very grateful.

We are not sure of the plan yet going forward. We have an appointment on December 22nd to discuss options and we’ll share with you when we know.

Right now, we’re taking it one day at a time, grieving the loss of what could have been and are trying to heal our hearts from a very difficult year.

Again, thank you and we love you.

2 thoughts on “From the Bottom of My Heart

  1. So sorry about your failed cycle. It’s a tough pill to swallow. It took me 3 stim cycles and 8 transfers to get pregnant with twins. I am now 14.5 weeks. I read that the average number of transfers for a successful pregnancy is 7. I know it doesn’t make it easier but I guess it’s good to keep in the back of your mind. Let’s hope you are gloriously pregnant soon 🙂

    Like

    1. Congrats! That’s so amazing! 🙂 What a blessing. Unfortunately, I don’t know that we will ever make it to 8 transfers if we keep only having one or two embryos make it to day 2 only, but you never know. Here’s to hoping!

      Like

Leave a Reply

