Medical Monday

I called yesterday to let the office know my cycle had started and they asked me to come in about an hour later for an ultrasound and bloodwork.

Fortunately, I was able to do so as I didn’t have any meetings or obligations Monday morning. Unfortunately, when I went in, my cysts were still present. The doctor told me it was a 50/50 chance that they’d go away on their own so we had 3 options.

  1. Keep taking the Lupron shot and hope they go away on their own.
  2. Drain the cysts in the office, local anesthesia to the said area and they’ll be gone.
  3. Medial procedure to get rid of them.

He informed me that most people don’t do option 3, but the other two were up to me. I think my exact words were: “Honestly, I f%$*ing hate Lupron, so let’s just drain these things if you’re good with it.” He was good with it.

I was sent home and they said they’d call back with an appointment time that week. An hour later I got a call and they had an opening at 1:30. I jumped on it and just turned around, drove back to the office.

A whirlwind of a day for sure. It was about as fun as it sounds. And disgusting. I’ll leave it at that. But they’re gone and it means I can get started on my stimulation shots. {Can I get a raise the roof motion here!?} I start tomorrow to give my ovaries a few days rest from yesterday. This is when the fast track begins. Last time, I stimmed fairly easy on a low dose so I don’t imagine I’ll be more than 8 days on these 3 shots. We’ll see.

I’m crossing my fingers for a better cycle. I saw one of the other doctors yesterday and he said, “I remember your file. You had lots of eggs but bad egg quality. God bless you, when we all sat around and looked at your file after your last failed IVF, we all just shook our heads. We have very few cases a year that turn out like this. I’m not saying it doesn’t happen, but it’s not often.” I’m not sure if I feel better that we’re an anomaly or not. Maybe better? It means they wouldn’t have done anything different that first time around and it is what it is.

Cross your fingers for us, too please! I’ll do my  best to keep everyone updated.

 

One thought on “Medical Monday

Leave a Reply

