Bringing Home (Em)Baby

Today, we had the transfer for our second round of IVF. Our second egg retrieval was Sunday, which also happens to be National Infertility Awareness Week. Coincidence? Maybe. I like to think that it’s a sign of good things to come, but only time will tell.

Our transfer today, didn’t exactly go as planned. We did transfer one beautiful embryo and we’re praying, hoping and wishing that it results in a positive pregnancy. However, similar to our last round, we went from 16 eggs retrieved, to 7 fertilized to only 1 in a matter of 3 days, confirming that it’s likely an egg quality issue. You always hope for embryos to freeze during IVF because while a 40% chance seems high for success, it also means there is a 60% chance it’ll fail.

I thought I prepared myself to hear the doctor repeat the same words she did in November. “I’m sorry, but we had a similar experience to last time. This is the only one that survived.” But really, you’re never ready to hear those words. You can prepare yourself as much as you want, but it hits hard every time. It brings a flood of emotions that I’ll talk about later. Like last time, I don’t think I’ve had enough time to process this day.

I’m hopeful for this really beautiful embryo I am carrying right now and that’s all I can really do.

I’m taking this week to rest and recover as I’m still feeling pretty crappy overall. This process takes a huge toll not only emotionally, but physically and I think it’s hit me harder this round than the last.

Thank you for the prayers, love, support, messages – everything. I will never stop saying how lucky we are to have such a great group of people supporting us!

IMG_3896.JPG

4 thoughts on “Bringing Home (Em)Baby

Leave a Reply

