Surgery Day

I’m nervous, but glad the day is finally here. It’ll be good to find out if we have one more hurdle to jump before our next IVF. Like our doctor said, it may or may not help the next round, but if we don’t do it, we’ll always wonder.

I’ve had a few questions about what the surgery entails, so I thought I’d give you what I know.

What are they looking for?

Endometrosis. You can read more about the disease here, but it can affect fertility and it is a painful condition. I have some symptoms of it, including very painful periods, so that’s why they are checking with the surgery.

What kind of surgery is used? 
It’s done through laparoscopy to diagnose and also remove the endometriosis. Instead of using a large abdominal incision, the surgeon inserts a lighted viewing instrument called a laparoscope through a small incision. If the surgeon needs better access,the doctor might make one or two more small incisions for inserting other surgical instruments {source: WebMD}

The laparoscopy is done through general anestesia and I’ll be going through Spectrum in GR. They fill the abdomen with gas (carbon dioxide or nitrous oxide), injected with a needle, and it pushes the abdominal wall away from the organs so the doctor can see everything clearly.

Next, they insert a laparoscope through a small incision and they then examine the internal organs. Sometimes they have to make additional cuts to move organs around for better viewing. The entire procedure should only take 30-40 minutes.

If they do get in there and see that I have some endo spots, they’ll remove them by either cutting and removing the tissue or using a laser.

It is an outpatient procedure at the surgery center, pending all goes well, and recovery time is generally about two weeks from what I hear, sometimes longer depending on how much they find or don’t find. I’m planning on being home from work for the next couple of days and returning Monday so it’ll be nice to relax and recover with ease.

They’re also doing one more test while they’re in there today of my uterus, called a hysteroscopy. It basically just checks the health of my uterus.

I’ll take any prayers, thoughts and good vibes anyone wants to send our way and will try to update soon after the surgery {but it might be a while as I’ll be pretty out of it!}.

Leave a Reply

